The Majestic Kingdom of Cambodia

Standard
The Majestic Kingdom of Cambodia

Angkor Wat is Cambodia’s most priced possessions. It claimed its fame in the world through Angelina Jolie’s Tomb Raider movie and listed by UNESCO as a World Heritage site in the early 90’s.  Since then, Cambodia gets millions of tourists from around the globe every year.

With so much intrigue, I backpacked with a good friend (Debra) and just went to Siem Reap to see it for myself. It was a beautiful place! I just stopped in awe and disbelief of how huge the temple was. I was actually stepping on the grounds of a 12th century historic site. It’s unbelievable!

The friendly and accommodating people, the ambience, the savoury food, and the very cheap shopping made it all hard for me to leave! I did promise myself to go visit this place again someday and it’s one of my bucket lists!

the break of dawn

roots intertwined with the bricks

big tree

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Majestic Kingdom of Cambodia « Wuzzle's adventures

  2. Goodness! I envy you for your travels!!! Since leaving the Philippines, I’ve not made it back to that “side of the world,” but have always wanted to go to Vietnam. Cambodia seems to be a beautiful place. My husband gets a little anxious going places where they don’t speak English. It doesn’t bother me a bit!!! The world is a GREAT BIG PLACE, and I’d love to see more of it!

Leave a comment